FDA grants Roche’s Obinutuzumab Priority Review for Previously Untreated Chronic lymphocytic leukemia

July 4 2013 | By Márcio Barra

In May this year, Roche filed their chronic lymphocytic leukaemia drug, obinutuzumab, for market approval in Europe, via the EMA, and in the US via the FDA.  Back then, the FDA granted Obinutuzumab ‘breakthrough therapy designation’. Now, the FDA has granted Obinutuzumab Priority Review Status for the treatment of chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) on top of the breakthrough drug designation, speeding up the final marketing decision from the standard 10 months to 6 months. FDA’s expected decision date is December 20, 2013.

The FDA is currently evaluating data from the pivotal Phase III CLL11 trial. Data from the trial  showed that patients taking Obinutuzumab had a 86%reduction in the risk of disease worsening or death when combined with chlorambucil chemotherapy compared to chlorambucil alone in previously untreated people with CLL.

Obinutuzumab can be seen as Roche’s response to Rituxan losing its patent in Europe this year. Obinutuzumab, or  GA101, is an antibody created to improve the immune system’s capability to attack and kill B cells, from which chronic lymphocytic leukemia originates. From the clinical trial data released thus far, the drug shows marked improvements over Roche’s own Rituxan, due to its increased potency in attacking B cells.

A December 20, 2013 approval date would be great news for Roche, as it would allow company to add a branded biologic to their portfolio sooner than later, as its branded Rituxan will soon lose its patent protection. Rituxan added close to $6 billion in sales to the firm’s 2012 balance sheet.

5 comments
  1. Johne153 said:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back. kgdecbbebakd

  2. Aurora said:

    Hi truly superior study.I ought to admit aim pretty new to using WordPress well really incredibly new. Just starting for getting the hang of it. Reading your post has been incredibly informative. I need to admit still not totally 100 percent clear in my head. So have just put your blog on my desktop so I’m able to go straight to it and have another appearance later.

  3. Hello! I understand this is definitely fairly off-topic nonetheless must you can ask. Does having a well-established webpage much like one obtain a lots of get the job done? I’m latest to successfully writing a blog however I do develop during my record on a regular basis. I’d always like to take up a blog to write about my go through and then emotions and thoughts on the internet. Please make me aware when you have just about any options or advice for latest driven writers. Thankyou!

    • Hi!

      What do you mean by obtaining a lots of get the job done? Contact me at marciocbarra@gmail.com so that we can discuss better.

      I don´t make any money with this website, as I do not monetize it (maybe I should). This is a very niche website for a niche audience. There is no clickbait, only news I like to write about and some informative articles. I guess if you like something and you enjoy writing, you can find the motivation to do it often.

Leave a Reply

